Since 2004 I have been travelling on and off. It sort of began in the northern hemispherian summer/southern hemispherian winter when I went to visit Heather in Canada for a month, and carried on in 2005 when I moved to New Zealand in the latter half of the year. Although I have spent a lot of time travelling over the past five years I haven’t been to a large number of places. I travel at the rate of a tortoise, since each experience is a live&work one. I’ve now lived&worked in Australia, New Zealand, Canada and the United Kingdom. Being a Commonwealth citizen has some huge perks in the visa department. Being a Caucasian mongrel with three passports helps too.

I’ve always known I would go out into the world in search of the right place for me. It’s what my family has done for generations, and I acknowledge that our being able to do this so easily is an enormous privilege. I have occasionally tossed around the thought that if I could hand over my Australian citizenship to an asylum-seeker I absolutely would. I’m not doing that yet, since I need that citizenship to get my education, but I think once I am established it might be time to think about resigning one of my citizenships.

Have digressed a little from what I wanted the point of this post to be! I wanted to write about how even though I still haven’t necessarily found my place, I have definitely found a lot of the things I want to be in my place. I am banking on knowing what I want from my immediate world and deliberately striving to find the place that meets a large number of those requirements as being one of the keys to being happy with my own life.

What a girl wants, what a girl needs:

  • To be able to live carless.
    • Which requires a good public transit network, and I’d like one with an active user community.
    • Also requires strong walkability.
    • And bicycle friendliness.
  • To be able to eat healthy.
    • Requires farmers’ markets,
    • health food retailers, and
    • stevia!
  • To be surrounded by positive people who like fresh things, new things, and are positive about change.
  • Trees, plants, flowers! (Also squirrels, ideally.)
  • “Late” shopping hours and 24 hour groceries.
    • Including cafés.
  • Travelability.
    • Overseas travel a few hours of flying away or,
    • domestic travel 45min-1hr away (max).
  • SEASONS. (Thank Kurtulmak that Launceston has a lot of imported trees.)

It’s actually quite hard to put into words what it is that has made me love the places I’ve loved, but I know it when I feel it, and I have the (enormous) luxury of being able to refuse to settle elsewhere.

*****

Lily of The House of Mirth is an evil wench who foisted upon me this “game of 8 questions” and it has been an exceedingly long time since I participated in one of these things, so I am indulging her and also indulging my own love of talking about myself.

1) If you could live in any time and place, when and where would it be?

  • I am pining away for my time of studenthood and clipped wings to be over, so I would like to be living toward the end of 2013. Ideally by this time I’ll have my BN and my Graduate Diploma in Mental Health Nursing and a year of professional experience all neatly tucked under my belt, and I will be gearing up to head overseas to some fabulous new job and to enjoy some PROPER SEASONS (see above). I know it’s terribly wicked to wish away years of my life and blah blah blah, but that is where I want to be, and I can’t be doing with this fussing about working hard and getting there. I just want to be there now.

2) Other than Mr Darcy, who is your most shaggable fictional character?

  • Oh, awful. It’s absolutely Walter Blythe from the final Anne book: Rilla of Ingleside. The poor darling abhors war and cannot bring himself to go bouncing off to WWI to defend the “Old Grey Mother” as his brothers so merrily do. He gets white feathers mailed to him as he tries to carry on with his education, and eventually does go to war and is killed trying to rescue a comrade. He writes a poem while he’s there which eventually becomes famous across Canada, and he never gets to have his happy ending with his true love Una and oh, I am actually going to cry just thinking about it. That book kills me.
  • Possibly coming in second is Catman from Secret Six…

3) Do you have any hidden talents?

  • I am far too vain to keep what small talent I have to myself! So if I ever find any the world will be sure to hear of it. Until then I’ll just have to be content with being able to raise my right eyebrow and bend my thumbs down to be parallel with my arm. Sadly, I am also pretty good at being abused over the phone and remaining polite and forcing a constructive end to the call by sheer force of will. I like to keep that one secret because, when temping, if it’s found out you can cope with abuse you wind up shoved out in front of everyone else as the customer service/reception meat shield. Just because someone can suck it up and just do it, doesn’t mean they should always have to!

4) Tell me something embarrassing about yourself!

  • I am a complete and total lover of teacher’s pet status. I am utterly pathetic. If my academic record is examined you can tell which classes were taught by teachers I liked and connected with, and which weren’t. The connection is the important bit. If I felt respected and valued by a teacher I would do everything to make them proud of me, and I would truly die if I get a bad mark and make them hate me. In year 9 I tried to protest what seemed like being exhiled to “bottom English” due to lazy Perth Modern School administrative staff and I deliberately did a sloppy job on a piece of assigned work. Unfortunately, I really liked that teacher, and when I got it back from her with a C- and a note saying, “This is not to your standard and I know you can do much better” I was beside myself and pulled out all the stops for the next assignment and it all got me absolutely bloody nowhere.

5) What really gets on your nerves?

  • You are officially trying to make this the longest waffly blog post in history. EVERYTHING annoys me! Negative, unimaginative people annoy me; bad spelling annoys me; people who smoke walking on city streets or at bus stops annoy me; coverage of Australia participating in international sports events annoy me; “math” rather than “maths” annoys me; “Legos” rather than “Lego” annoys me; being the condescendee rather than the condescender annoys me; Wil Anderson annoys me; download limits annoy me; stories that begin with “I was SO drunk, hahahaa!” annoy me… oh, it goes on and on. I am an angry old person waiting to happen.

6) Do your family and friends read your blog?

  • Probably not! Look at how much nonsense I blab.

7) What’s your favourite movie?

  • I am SO predictable – it’s absolutely Labyrinth. That film is distilled joy for me. That it involves a Python, Bowie and a Dwarfer is the cherry on the icing on the cake.

8) What does your dream cat look like? (Mine is a big fat fluffy orange Persian with a squished face called Darren or Darryl.  Not liking cats is not an option!)

  • Pepper. My lovely grizzled, stinky, yowly baby in the sky. I’mma go ahead and pour out some cat milk for seniors.

"WAAUUUUM!"

Lucky for everyone I know that has a blog that I am too too lazy to write my own series of questions with which to tag you! Yeah, you can thank me later. (P.S. – Birthday, 28th of July.)