Since the last thrilling chapter I have had another two weeks work in Cardiff, then travelled to Bath & Bristol with Mum, then had a month in San Francisco. The SF time was meant to be only two and a half weeks and a brief visit to see old friends of mine, but we stretched it out a bit. I almost thought I was going to have to stretch it further since I was in the throes of food poisoning at SFO the day of departure after we ate some red snapper that, unbeknownst to us, was off when we bought it. Bad form, Taraval Safeway!

Since my return to Cardiff I have been frantically working away at A) getting work (yes, again) and B) figuring out what to do with my life!
I shall be entirely honest. I spent the summer of my fourteenth year lying on my stomach in front of the TV, pressed down by the weight of the humid air, eating frozen mango cheesecake and being entirely obsessed with M*A*S*H. Yes, I decided, nursing is for me!
Then I got distracted by life and things and began to doubt myself, never once thought for a second I could try things like volunteer in nursing homes during school holidays, and the idea pretty much drained away. At the time when you are supposed to be memorising the TEE score you need to get into the course of your choice I looked vaguely at the nursing ones and memorised them because I had no idea what else to look at. It did not work out.
Well, the interest is back now. So I have been thinking, reading researching schools and mature age entry requirements.
At present, this is the plan: get first aid certificate (£40) and study basic phlebotomy course (£225) before the 30th of September so that I can apply for the University of Tasmania’s 2 year fast track nursing degree. If I get in and I don’t feel ready I can defer a semester or a year, so I’m not biting off too much more than I can chew. If I don’t get in I can set my sights on being ready for the mid-year intake in many other schools offering nursing degrees.

Location: Cardiff, Wales, UK
Employment: Have two potentials in the works. I’m keen on both, but I do have a preference. Fingers crossed for first preference!
Place of residence: Mum’s after she had a pleasant month-long break from me!
Doing: Obsessively reading nursing blogs, researching nursing books, trying to think up auxiliary nursing-related study I can undertake online and through short courses here in the UK.
Decisions: Is nursing really going to be right for me? Where should I spend my time if it turns out it will be a 12 month wait for school and not a 6 month one?

In exciting follow up to last status update: yes, I did get my hair cut. No, I did not buy new glasses.

